top of page
Search
  • An

What I Eat in a Day as an Intern

Big fan of "What I Eat in a Day" videos on YouTube, and most of the videos add tags that target specific audiences like "...as a Vegan" or "...as a Hand Model" or "...as a Busy Mom." Today, I'm here to write about what I eat in a day...as an intern.


Breakfast

Recently, breakfast has been a big bowl of cut fruit (plums, nectarines, grapes, apples, bananas, apricots) and a cup of plain yogurt with some honey on top, all from the office. I really really really like the Israeli yogurt. The consistency are quite different from the ones in the states - creamier, less dense, and more soupy texture than chunky - and I've definitely been getting my share of it. See below for a picture of my breakfast today and also of the large screen with lines and lines of code that I stare at for many hours a day.




Lunch

The team usually goes out to Sarona Market altogether for lunch, and I'll get a plate of shawarma hummus or a poke bowl or a big salad or a steak and eggs pita. Today, we went away from our usual routine and grabbed a bowl of hummus + shakshuka from a nearby cafe. I try not to eat too big of a meal for lunch because the more pita I consume at noon, the harder it is for me to make it to 6pm. This dish was especially tasty, and the Israelis down it fast. I've learned to pick up my eating speed since I started eating with my coworkers.



Dinner

Most nights, I'll explore the area by our apartment to find the next best meal to eat. Today, I had a plate of Pad Thai from Giraffe (again) with Jenny, Eileen, Janice, and Zach. As with most international cuisines in non-homeland countries (ex. Thai food in Israel or Mexican food in France), the tastes of the international dishes cater to the country's typical cuisine flavor and taste. For instance, the curry at Giraffe is made with chickpeas (common base for Middle Eastern dishes) and the "udon noodles" dish is not really udon but rather just regular egg noodles (probably from lack of resources). This brought up an interesting conversation topic with one of our apartment-mates Eileen, who was explaining why certain cuisines and foods are the way they are.


Take Szechuan food for example. Why is Szechuan cuisine so spicy? Sichuan cuisine, Szechwan cuisine, or Szechuan cuisine is a style of Chinese cuisine originating from Sichuan Province. It has bold flavors, particularly the pungency and spiciness resulting from liberal use of garlic and chili peppers, as well as the unique flavor of Sichuan pepper. Well, Sichuan is a southwestern Chinese province that contains a stretch of Asia’s longest river, the Yangtze - a.k.a., it's inland and quite a distance away from the water. Since the seafood has to travel a great distance to reach the Sichuan region, the cuisine uses bold, spicy flavors of the Sichuan pepper to mask the lack of freshness of the fish by the time it reaches the region. Additionally, the spiciness aids in digestion and prevents the stomach from reacting to the consumption of less-fresh meats.


Regardless, food is food, and this dish below certainly tasted good.


18 views2 comments
bottom of page