top of page
Search
  • An

Eight Fantastic Meals

I think about food a lot, and I am always on the hunt for the best eats in new places. With only two weeks in Israel, I already have already consumed too many delicious meals to count (most of which are chickpea-based, surprise surprise). Thankfully, I take pictures of almost everything I eat, and so without further ado, here is a list of the eight best meals I have had in Tel-Aviv so far:


1. A Whole Head of Cauliflower from Miznon

Never thought I could eat a whole head of cauliflower in one sitting, but now I know it's possible. Boiled, roasted, and seasoned with goodness (probably some combination of butter, salt, and garlic...who knows). We demolished this vegetable in less than two minutes. It was that good.



2. Shawarma Pita from Hakosem

Every shawarma pita I have had thus far has been delicious, but this one was phenomenal. Packed with chicken shawarma, fried eggplant, hummus, tahini, tomatoes, cucumbers, pickled vegetables, chili, parsley, and falafel. Clover's Chickpea Fritter has nothing on this pita sandwich.



3. Pad Thai from Giraffe

Crazy concept, but the pad thai at this particular restaurant in Tel-Aviv blew me out of the water. Noodles pulled out of the water at just the right time, flavored with just enough spices. An international cuisine done right.



4. Breakfast Burrito from Cafe Xoho

Quite an American breakfast but nonetheless packed with lots of goodness: eggs, avocado, sour cream, cheese, beans, lettuce, and tomato. A classic.



5. Shakshuka from Hummus Kaspi

Shakshouka is a dish of eggs poached in a sauce of tomatoes, chili peppers, and garlic, commonly spiced with cumin, paprika, cayenne pepper, and nutmeg. Shakshuka + piles of pita = great concept.



6. Falafel Waffle from I'm Not Sure, but It Was Delicious

When at Vegan Festival, buy a falafel waffle. Vendors have to get crafty these days when everyone is selling the good ol' falafel pita.



7. Hummus Kaspi from Hummus Kaspi

Hummus Kaspi really has my heart. This was my first plate of hummus in Israel, and it has been by far the best one. Creamy, rich, and full of chickpeas.



8. Republic Burger from Vitrina

Mayonnaise, plum jam, cheese, hazelnuts, arugula, and balsamic vinaigrette. Mix-and-match fries with zester lemon on top, served with beetroot dip. Strawberry basil lemonade on the side. Line was out the door, and I understand why.



17 views0 comments
bottom of page